Nebraska High School Press Association

NHSPA Online

JEA/NSPA Convention Student Award Results

Marsha Kalkowski, JEA Liason

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Download PDF

Nebraska journalism students showcased their skills at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in Indianapolis, Nov. 10 -13.  More than 3750 students representing 420 schools and 39 states, England and China were in attendance.

In the National Scholastic Press Association’s Individual Awards Ceremony for Picture of the Year, two photographers from Millard West’s PawPrint Student Newspaper were recognized for their photos from the 2015-16 school year: Emily Seaton earned 8th place in Sports Action Photo and Taylor Charlson earned 4thplace in Feature Photo.

In the NSPA Best of Show Competition, Millard West’s literary magazine, INK, earned 10th place and their yearbook, THE PROWLER, also earned 10th place in its division.  The Omaha Central REGISTER earned 5th place in the Newspaper Broadsheet category.  Entries could only be submitted by schools in attendance at the Convention.


In the JEA Individual Write Off contests (

Mount Michael 

Patrick Halpin, Honorable Mention in Sports Writing


Omaha Bryan –

Bethany Szczepaniak, Excellent in Feature Writing

Emily Pemble, Honorable Mention in Editorial Writing


Omaha Central

Julian Hock-Beaty, Honorable Mention in Graphic Design: Logo

Georgia Chambers, Honorable Mention in Feature Writing


Millard West –

Anneliese Punt, Superior in Feature Writing

Emma Lueck, Superior in Photo Story

Brooke Staashelm, Excellent in Portrait Photography

Ashleigh Shafer, Excellent in First Year Photography

Alexiz Novacek, Honorable Mention in Yearbook Copy/Caption Student Life

Katy Cowell, Honorable Mention in Photo Portfolio



Tehra Finn-Jackson, Superior in Graphic Design: Advertising

Susana Pettis, Superior in Literary Magazine Poetry

Brianna Wessling, Excellent in Literary Magazine Illustration

Annika Zimmerman, Excellent in Graphic Design: Logo

Isabelle Swanson, Honorable Mention in Feature Writing

Becca Williams, Honorable Mention in Yearbook Layout: Inside Pages

Anna Mantini, Honorable Mention in Themed Photography

Courtney Doherty, Honorable Mention in Portrait Photography


In the Adviser Awards Luncheon on Nov. 12, Bellevue East adviser Stephenie L. Conley was celebrated for earning her Master Journalism Educator (MJE) certification.  Advisers Katie L. Wright of North Bend Central, Carol L. Mertl and Christine Kaldahl, both of Millard South, were recognized for the Certified Journalism Educator (CJE) renewal certification.  Lincoln Southeast adviser Brianne Kaylee Clark was recognized as a first time CJE.  For more information about JEA Certification and Awards, visit


Students from Millard West, Omaha Central, Omaha Bryan, Lincoln Pius X, Mount Michael Benedictine and Marian participated in this educational enrichment opportunity.  The next national convention will be in Seattle, April 6-9, 2017.  For more information about that opportunity, visit  In November 2017, the convention will be in Dallas, Texas.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Nebraska High School Press Association
JEA/NSPA Convention Student Award Results