Nebraska High School Press Association

NHSPA Online

JEA/NSPA Fall Convention Recap

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Download PDF

Nebraska represented itself very well at the JEA/NSPA Fall Convention this past month! Congratulations to all of the students and advisers that consistently make Nebraska one of the top states for high school journalism!

Here are the results from Minneapolis:


  • Warrior Television – Westside High School (Matt Rasgorshek, Adviser)

 NSPA “BEST OF SHOW” (click here for a complete list)

  • The Torch – Papillion LaVista South (Anne Albracht, Adviser) – 9th Place (Newspaper 8 pages or fewer)
  • The Lance – Westside High School (Rod Howe, Adviser) – 2nd Place (Newspaper 9-12 pages)
  • Craze  – Westside High School (Nathan Moseley, Adviser)- 5th Place (Newspaper Special Edition)
  • Xanadu – Westside High School (Nathan Moseley, Adviser ) – 8th Place (Literary Magazine)
  • Warrior Television – Westside High School (Matt Rasgorshek, Adviser) – 6th Place (Broadcast)
JEA WRITE OFF COMPETITIONS (click here for a complete list)
Omaha Central High School

RACHEL RIEF – Yearbook Copy/Caption Student Life – Excellent


Blair High School

KAT MAZZARA – Yearbook Copy/Caption Academics – Honorable Mention

ALLI HUPPERT – Feature Writing – Honorable Mention


Millard North High School

BRENT GRIFFITHS – Yearbook Copy/Caption Sports – Superior

ELIZABETH GROTH – Review Writing – Honorable Mention

RAJAGOPLAN NITHYA – Commentary Writing – Honorable Mention

EMILY SEYMOUR – News Editing/Headline Writing – Honorable Mention

ALAN DAVIS – Yearbook Copy/Caption Clubs – Honorable Mention

COLLIN LYNCH – Videography – Honorable Mention

JENNA PFINGSTEN – Newswriting – Honorable Mention


Marian High School 

RACHEL LUKOWSKI – Yearbook Copy/Caption Sports Writing – Superior

ZOE URSICK – Commentary Writing – Excellent

ABBY JOHNSON – Computer Design:Photoshop Art – Excellent

FAITH WILWERDING – Broadcast Newswriting – Excellent

EMILY JOHANEK – Sports Writing – Honorable Mention

EMILY FISHER (jr) – Editorial Cartooning – Honorable Mention

ANNIE HUPP – Literary Magazine Layout – Honorable Mention

HANNAH TOOHEY – Computer Design Headline Writing & Design – Honorable Mention

BRE MILLER – Art Illustration – Honorable Mention


Westside High School

MEGAN NORTH – Yearbook Copy/Caption – Superior

EVA PHILLIPS – Computer Design Logo – Superior

MADISON MAPES – Broadcast Sports Story – Superior

SARA GUO – Feature Writing – Excellent

JORDAN MEREDITH – Literary Magazine Layout – Excellent

LILLY PHILLIPS – Literary Magazine Illustration – Excellent

SOPHIE CEMAJ – Videography – Excellent

KATE LAING – Newsmagazine Layout – Honorable Mention

ALLISON TOMEK – Sports Writing – Honorable Mention

SONIA SCHRAGER – Yearbook Copy/Caption Academics – Honorable Mention

KEEGAN MAHONEY – Yearbook Cover/Endsheets – Honorable Mention

GRACE HOYME & SYDNEY WIESELER – In-Camera Feature – Honorable Mention

BRIGIT MAHONEY – Broadast Newswriting – Honorable Mention

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Nebraska High School Press Association
JEA/NSPA Fall Convention Recap