2023 Nebraska Student Journalist of the Year Announced

Justin Diep, Omaha Bryan High

Nebraska’s Student Journalist of the Year is Bryan High School’s Justin Diep.

Justin is the Editor-in-Chief of the Orator Newspaper, a marketing intern at E & A Consulting, a contributor to NOISE, a representative on the Student Advisory Board to the Superintendent, the FBLA Vice President, DECA Vice President of Public Relations and the NHS Vice President at Bryan High School, just to name a few hats he wears. Justin’s current adviser is Gretchen Baijnauth.  His former adviser is Ranae Duncan. His portfolio has already been accepted at the national level.  We wish him the best. At the NSAA State Journalism in Norfolk for Class A, Justin will receive a $1,500 scholarship check from the NHSPA.

The Journalist of the Year judges decided to name THREE additional journalists in the Runner Up category and thus, will give them $500 each at the NSAA State Contest in April.

Those students are Ellen Pham of Papillion-La Vista, Ally Seevers of Millard South and Vivian Landis of Omaha North. Ellen’s adviser is Joe Rohacik. Ally’s adviser is Christine Kaldahl and Vivian’s adviser is Amanda Gutierrez.

Ellen Pham, Papillion-La Vista
Ally Seevers, Millard South
Vivian Landis, Omaha North