NHSPA Online

Friends of Journalism

Friend of Journalism, R. Neale Copple Award

  • 2023: Dr. Amanda Gutierrez, Omaha Public Schools
  • 2022: Mindy Burbach, Lincoln Public Schools, Director of Communications
  • 2021: Keith McCoy, Walsworth and Michelle Brosemer, Walsworth
  • 2020: Adam Morfeld, Nebraska State Senator
  • 2019: Michelle Hassler, University of Nebraska Lincoln
  • 2018: Jim Timm, Nebraska Broadcasters Association
  • 2017: Michael Kennedy, Chadron State College
  • 2016: None Awarded
  • 2015: Kathy Lodl –   Rustler Sentinel
  • 2014:Jason Unger and Susie Nelson, Wahoo Newspaper and Ashland Gazette
  • 2013: Greg Boettger, Bellevue Public Schools
  • 2012: Adam Wagler, University of Nebraska
  • 2011: Laura Schaub, Balfour Taylor
  • 2010: Jim Bovee, Clay Center High School Principal & Ron Deyo/Deyo’s Photography*
  • 2009: Jim Headley, Gering Courier/Gering Citizen & Mike Edgecombe, Hebron Journal*
  • 2008: B.J. Fictum, Crete News*
  • 2007: Greg Adams, Walsworth Publishing Company, Dave Collins, Omaha Bryan High School Principal & Diane Vickers, Beatrice Daily Sun*
  • 2006: Jim Angele, Nebraska School Activities Association*
  • 2005: Dr. Jerry Bexton, Omaha Central High School Principal, & Stephanie Croston, Publisher, Seward County Independent*
  • 2004: Mike Diffenderfer, Walsworth Publishing Company*
  • 2003: Brad Staman, Gering Courier*
  • 2002: Shon Barenklau, Papillion Times*
  • 2001: Willie Shafer, Lincoln Lefler Middle School*
  • 2000: Robert L. Whitehouse, Bryan High School Principal
  • 1999: Herb Barelman, Bellevue East Principal*
  • 1998: George Tuck, University of Nebraska School of Journalism; Conde Sargent, NSAA
  • 1997: Senator Chris Beutler*
  • 1996: John Bender, University of Nebraska School of Journalism*
  • 1995: George Tuck, University of Nebraska School of Journalism
  • 1994: Pat Schock & Marilyn Peterson
  • 1993:
  • 1992: Al Koontz, Beatrice Daily Sun Manager & Greg Gillispie, KWBE Program Director*
  • 1991:
  • 1990: Neale Copple, Dean of the UNL School of Journalism*

NOMINATION FORM in pdf formatAt the May 6, 1989 General Membership Meeting, the idea to honor someone from the professional media, high school administration, local Nebraska communities or Nebraska colleges who significantly supported scholastic journalism was approved unanimously. Initially, the plan was to have NHSPA member advisers submit nominations and then a standard form would be sent to the nominees concerning background information.  The sheets would be returned to a panel of executive board members and past distinguished advisers who would vote. Current advisers are not eligible for the award, but past or retired advisers are eligible. The Friend of Journalism Award would be presented at the Spring Contest Awards Ceremony and the winner would be invited to speak at the fall convention.  After awarding the first Friend of Journalism Award to Dean Neale Copple, the membership voted to name the award after him as well. If you can help fill in any of the missing information, please email  M. Kalkowski.

Activate Search
Friends of Journalism