NHSPA Online

Distinguished Adviser of the Year

Distinguished Adviser Archives


  • 2023: Joe Rohacik, Papillion LaVista
  • 2022: David Stevens, Fremont & Jean Brown, Aquinas Catholic
  • 2021: Brandi Benson, Lincoln Southwest
  • 2020: Stephenie Conley, Bellevue East
  • 2019: Erica Brockmoller. Lexington High School
  • 2018: Lori Larson, North Platte High School
  • 2017: No Winner
  • 2016:  Diane Schieffer, Elkhorn High School
  • 2015: Mark Hilburn, Millard West High School
  • 2014: Courtney Archer, Elkhorn South High School
  • 2013: Jane Holt, Lincoln East High School
  • 2012: Matt Rasgorshek, Omaha Westside High School
  • 2011: Rod Henkel, Yutan High School
  • 2010: Joanne Chapuran, Millard South High School
  • 2009: Janelle Schultz, Gering High School
  • 2008: Ann Fornoff, Hayes Center High School
  • 2007: Diane Schutt, Fairbury High School
  • 2006: Matt Deabler, Omaha Central High School
  • 2005: Cathy Davis, Hastings High School & Christine Kaldahl, Millard South High School
  • 2004: Marsha Kalkowski, Omaha Marian High School
  • 2003: Rod Howe, Omaha Westside High School
  • 2002: Diane Schutt, Fairbury High School & Sheila Pedersen, Millard North High School
  • 2001 no winner
  • 2000: Bob Bair, Blair High School
  • 1999: Terry Pitkin, Scottsbluff High School
  • 1998 Spring: Susan Nellson Baird, Bellevue East High School & Daryl Blue, Lincoln NorthEast High School
  • 1998 Fall: Linda Beckstead, Bellevue West High School
  • 1997: Terry Piktin, Scottsbluff
  • 1996: Doris Martin, Beatrice High School & Kathy Stockham, Valley High School
  • 1995 no winner
  • 1994: Marilyn Siebels, Oxford High School
  • 1993: Bob Bair, Blair High School
  • 1992: Penny Sander, Elkhorn High School
  • 1991: Ann Halladay, North Bend High School
  • 1990: Jim Schaffer, Lincoln East High School
  • 1989: Diane Schutt, Fairbury High School
  • 1988: Nancy Rice, Ralston High School
  • 1987: Doyle Schwaninger, Fremont High School
  • 1986: JoAnn Blackledge, North Platte High School
  • 1985: Duane Obermeier, Grand Island High School
  • 1984: Dianne Kuppig, Lincoln SouthEast High School
  • 1983: Sue Stolen, Omaha Northwest High School
  • 1982: John Hudnall, Omaha Westside High School
  • 1981: JoAnn Blackledge, North Platte High School; Beth Bohling, Superior High School; Linda Jensen, Ralston High School; Dianne Kuppig, Lincoln Southeast High School and Pat Schock, Waverly High School (NHSPA 50th Anniversary, “Golden Adviser Awards”)


Criteria: Current advisers that exemplify high school journalism advising in Nebraska.  Characteristics to consider include years of service, publications advised, awards or honors earned, ways they have positively influenced their students or their programs.  Additional professional or community involvement on behalf of scholastic jounalism would also be factors to consider.

Procedure for nominating: (1996 Fall decision by membership) In writing at or before Fall Convention, NHSPA Member Advisers may nominate to Exec. Board. Board will compile biographies after contacting nominees. Voting will take place at Fall Convention. (2002 Spring Decision by membership) The award will be presented at the Spring Contest when other awards are presented.

NOMINATION FORM in pdf formatThis program started to commemorate the 50 year anniversary of the Nebraska High School Press Association.
That was in 1981.

Activate Search
Distinguished Adviser of the Year