Nebraska High School Press Association

NHSPA Online

Meet the Executive Board

Terry Pitkin, President

Terry is in his 41st year as the yearbook and newspaper adviser at Scottsbluff High School.

This is his second stint on the NHSPA Board….he has served a cycle of five years back in the 80’s or 90’s and has

Been married to my wife Julie for 38 years…two daughters…both educators.



Mark Hilburn, Vice President

Mark Hilburn is in his eighth year teaching journalism at Millard West High School where he advises the Prowler Yearbook and Ink. Literary Magazine. The Prowler Yearbook has received 5 consecutive Cornhusker Awards from NHSPA, All-American Awards from NSPA and Gold Medalist Honors from CSPA. He is a Master Journalism Educator through the Journalism Education Association and holds Master’s degrees in Secondary Education: Curriculum and Instruction and Journalism and Mass Communication. In 2012, he wrote journalism standards for the state of Nebraska and Millard Public Schools, judges for various state journalism press associations and presents and judges at national JEA/NSPA and CSPA conventions. He was named the 2015 Nebraska Distinguished Adviser of the Year.


Angie Wolfe, Secretary


Angie is an adviser at Burke High School.


Janelle Schultz, CJE, Treasurer

Janelle Schultz is currently the NHSPA treasurer and past president. During her nine years on the board, she also served as secretary and Class B representative. Schultz has been advising at Gering High School for 18 years. She advises the Blue Prints newspaper, The Kennel yearbook and the news website Blue Prints Live.

During Schultz’s time as adviser at Gering, her students were Class A2 runners-up in 2009 and won the Class B state championship in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016

Schultz has a Bachelor of Arts degree in English, Journalism and Speech from the University of Wyoming, as well as a Bachelor of Science in Speech Pathology and Audiology from Morehead State College. She went on to earn her Master of Science in Education with emphasis in Journalism/Technology from Chadron State College. Schultz also earned a fellowship from the American Society of Newspaper Editors.

In her spare time, Schultz enjoys gardening, reading, camping and traveling to visit her daughters.

To contact Mrs. Schultz please use her email at [email protected]


Diane Schieffer, Camp Director

Diane is in her sixteenth year of teaching and seventh year advising yearbook.

She graduated from Wayne State College with a bachelor’s degree in Education with an endorsement in language arts.  In 2008, she graduated with her master’s degree in curriculum and instruction.  She teaches both English and advise the yearbook at Elkhorn High School, previously  she has taught at Fremont High School and West Point Central Catholic.

She has been a camp director since 2011, and also has served on the board as the medium school representative in the past.  Please feel free to email her at [email protected] with any questions.

Marsha Kalkowski, MJE, Journalism Education Association Liaison

Marsha Kalkowski has been advising publications at Omaha Marian since 1994.  She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in English/Language Arts from Creighton University and her Master of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.  Marian’s publications include The Network newspaper, the Crusader yearbook and the M-Beat broadcast program.

Mrs. K is a past Board member for the Nebraska High School Press Association and currently serves as the Nebraska State Director for the Journalism Education Association.  She was named the Nebraska Journalism Teacher of the Year in 2004 and has been sharing her love of high school journalism in workshops and conventions for many years.  Mrs. K is honored to have had many students excel in local, regional and national journalism competitions and even pursue their interests in writing, photography and design in their own careers. She is excited and blessed to be a small part of their Marian journalism educational experience. To contact Mrs. Kalkowski, please e-mail her at [email protected].

Beth Kavan, Large School Representative

English 10 / Yearbook / Newspaper / Broadcast Journalism / Photography
Northwest High School (GI)
At NW for 5 years; teaching for 13 years
She also is an adjunct at Hastings College, advising the Collegian newspaper

Brandi Benson, Large School Representative

Rod Henkel, Small School Representative

Rod has been teaching journalism and mathematics at Yutan High School for 26 years.  He advises the Chieftain Times and Chieftain yearbook.  Originally from Davenport, Neb., Rod graduated for the University of Nebraska at Lincoln.  His wife of 33 years Cindy and him have two children Brandon (32) and Amber (27) and two grandchildren Chloe (4) and Henry (1).








Kristin Harris, Medium School Representative










Aaron Dahl, Small School Representative








David Stevens , Small School Representative


David Stevens is the high school English teacher at Scribner-Snyder Community Schools. Along with core classes, he teaches newspaper and sponsors speech, one-act, and the high school community service club. Stevens graudated from Wayne State College in 2012 and lives in his home town, Blair, Nebraska. Currently he is finishing a masters in literacy and reading specialist.

Nebraska High School Press Association
Meet the Executive Board