2022 Nebraska Student Journalist of the Year


2022 Nebraska High School Student Journalist of the Year, Kaitlin E. Reynolds of Millard West.

 Kaitlin  Reynolds of Millard West has been named the 2022 Nebraska High School Journalist of the Year 

Kaitlin serves as the Millard West Yearbook Editor-in-Chief, the Catalyst Newspaper News Director, a MWHS Wildcat News Anchor, a STRIV Livestream video producer, a Russell Middle School Journalism Volunteer and as a team member to the Nebraska Broadcasters Association Project Extra Mile. Outside of journalism, Kaitlin is an honors student, the Student Council President, a School Board Representative and a Student Ambassador at Millard West. Kaitlin plans to attend the University of Kansas in the fall. She will be dual majoring in Digital Communication Design and Journalism: Strategic Communications. Kaitlin wins a $750 scholarship from the NHSPA, and her portfolio advances to the JEA National Journalist of the Year competition with more than $6,000 in scholarship opportunities.

Kaitlin’s adviser is Mark Hilburn, MJE.  You can view Kaitlin’s online portfolio here: